The Couture/Wheeler Farmhouse at Millstone Hill
The classic 1830’s brick cape Farmhouse is the latest addition to Millstone Hill’s lodging options. Completely restored in 2011, this historic Vermont home was originally built by Gardner Wheeler, on the farm he settled in 1794. In the late 1800’s Wheeler’s original 100 acres were subdivided and developed into many of the historic quarries now found on Millstone Hill, land containing much of today’s Millstone Trails network. Since the 1930’s the farm has been owned and operated by the Gerard Couture family, whose youngest son Pierre founded the Millstone Trails Association in 2005.
Situated next door to The Lodge, this beautiful yet comfortable antique filled home has four charming bedrooms, the second floor rooms (Frankie’s Room & Pierre’s Room) share a full bath with shower and bathtub, but each have private half baths. The renovations were designed with flexibility in mind. Two of the rooms can be rented with either one king size bed or two twins. Two of the rooms are large enough to accommodate an additional cot. The Farmhouse’s more intimate space is ideal for couples traveling together or with children, or groups of up to 10.